Red Sox Add Four Players to its Hall of Fame


Boston Red Soxpic

Boston Red Sox

A graduate of the Northfield Mount Hermon School, James Ahern is an experienced financial executive who serves as head of capital markets with New York’s Laidlaw & Company. Outside of his responsibility of raising capital for healthcare companies funded by Laidlaw & Company, James Ahern is a passionate fan of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) Boston Red Sox.

The Red Sox established its own Hall of Fame in 1995 to recognize the best players and managers in team history. On November 30, the team announced the induction of Mike Lowell, Derek Lowe, Kevin Youkilis, and the late John Frank Freeman. Lowell and Lowe contributed significantly to the team’s 2004 World Series winning team. Lowell, a skilled third baseman, started all 14 playoff games that year and hit two home runs to go along with a .353 average, while Lowe pitched in 384 games for the team between 1997 and 2004 and earned the series-clinching victory in each of the three series en route to the team winning its first World Series in 86 years.

Youkilis, meanwhile, played in 953 regular season games with the Red Sox from 2004 to 2012 and was part of the 2007 team that captured the World Series. The three-time All-Star hit for a .500 batting average in the American League Championship Series against the Cleveland Indians that year. Finally, Freeman was part of the Boston Americans team from 1901 to 1907 and helped lead the franchise to its first World Series in 1903. Hall of Fame selections are made by a 21-person committee comprised of club executives, fan representatives, local media, and historians.